STEP Recipients

STEP Recipients


Founded in 1989 as a safety benchmarking and improvement tool, STEP has evolved into a world-class safety management system that dramatically improves safety performance among participants regardless of company size or type of work. Participating ABC member firms measure their safety processes and policies on 25 key components through a detailed questionnaire with the goal of implementing or enhancing safety programs that reduce jobsite incidents.

Participating companies score their level of achievement for each component on a weighted point scale and document their incident rates (TRIR). Companies receive a recognition level of Diamond, Platinum, Gold, Silver, Bronze or Participant based on this data.

STEP Diamond, Platinum, and Gold recipients are eligible for the ABC National Safety Excellence and the Construction Users Roundtable Construction Industry Safety Excellence Awards.

CD Barnes Construction
Esper Electric, Ltd
First Companies, Inc.
Hoonhorst Concrete, Inc.
JB Builders of Grand Rapids, Inc.
Northwest Kent Mechanical Co.
Orion Construction
Thermal-Tec/Michigan, Inc.

Allied Electric, Inc.
Architectural Metals, Inc.
CSM Group
DAVIS Construction
Ritsema Associates
Town & Country Group
Triangle Associates, Inc.
Vos Glass

Allied Mechanical Services Inc
Buist Electric, Inc.
Hoekstra Electric
Nugent Builders, Inc.
Rockford Construction Co.

a.j. Veneklasen, Inc.
Bazen Electric Co.
Buist Sheet Metal Co.
Burgess Concrete Construction
D & D Building, Inc.
DHE Plumbing & Mechanical LLC
Lakewood Construction
Pioneer Construction
Pleune Service Company
Swanson Electrical Services, Inc.
Westmaas Electric Co.

Central Ceiling West, Inc.
CS Erickson
Dan Vos Construction Company
Erhardt Construction Co.
Excel Electric, Inc.
Grand Valley Automation, Inc.
Kent Companies, Inc.
Langerak Roof Systems Inc.
PEL Construction
Sobie Co., Inc.
The Bouma Corporation
Van Dyken Mechanical, Inc.