Excellence in Construction (EIC)

The Best of Commercial Construction

The Excellence in Construction (EIC) Awards recognize the best of commercial construction and the people building, connecting, protecting, growing, and defending our industry. These awards are a testament to the incredible work that ABC members put into each project. They showcase members’ skills, tradespeople, and commitment to safety.

Confetti falling at the ABC West Michigan EIC Awards
Award winners are announced live during our annual Excellence in Construction Awards program. The project manager, superintendent, and foreman on the winner projects, along with each category winner, receives recognition and publicity during and after the event.

EIC Awards

Every year, members compete to achieve these honors.
ABC West Michigan: Craft Professional of the Year

Craft Professional of the Year

ABC Western Michigan presents the annual Craft Professional of the Year Award to a construction craft professional who:
  • Excels in their field

  • Demonstrates a passion for the trade

  • Exhibits outstanding leadership qualities

  • Demonstrates a commitment to safety, education, and the merit shop philosophy

Project Awards

Member companies can submit recent projects for evaluation. These entries are evaluated by a panel of independent, non-member judges during in-person site tours. The award winners are determined based on quality, design and owner satisfaction.
ABC West Michigan: Excellence in Construction Awards
ABC West Michigan EIC Awards: Safety Award Excellence

The Safety Award of Excellence

The Safety Award of Excellence recognizes member companies who exhibit a commitment to jobsite safety and incorporate these values throughout their corporate culture. This award is presented to one Trade Contractor and one General Contractor/Construction Manager each year.

Young Professional of the Year

ABC WMC is launching the Young Professional of the Year Award in 2024. This award is presented to an individual under the age of 40 who is dedicated to the merit shop and is a top performer in his or her field based on career achievement, leadership, and vision for the future of the commercial and industrial construction industry.
ABC West Michigan: Young Professional of the Year

2023 Craft Professional of the Year

Tim Sterk

Burgess Concrete Construction

Former CPOY Winners

 2022: Jeff Hoeks, Feyen Zylstra
2021: Ben Eshuis, Allied Mechanical Services
2019: Neal Kooiman, Feyen Zylstra
2018: Joel Newton, Windemuller
2017: Jeff Dickman, Van Dyken Mechanical
2016: Terry Buschert, Architectural Metals, Inc.
2015: Mike VanBemden, Kent Companies

2023 Safety Award of Excellence Winners

Trade Contractor Winner

General Contractor Winner

Evaluation and Judging

Projects are evaluated by a panel of independent non-member judges who represent a cross-section of the industry. This includes clients, facility directors, building inspectors, architects, and engineers from across the West Michigan area. The judging panel evaluates all entries during in-person site tours and determines the winners based on a quantitative and comprehensive set of guidelines. ABC WMC staff and members do not participate as judges.

ABC WMC Member Recognition

ABC WMC loves honoring exceptional contributions to the construction industry. Learn about our member recognition opportunities at the link below.
A wide angle view of the event space that the ABC West Michigan EIC award show is held in